WANNA and GONNA

Do English speakers cut and reduce words? Of course!
I really wanna speak fast.
I’m gonna practice a lot.
What do these sentences mean?

If you want to speak fast in English, you definitely need to use these common reductions.

I really want to speak fast.
I’m going to practice a lot.
The small word “to” becomes “a.”
“Want to” = “wanna”
“Going to” = “gonna”

You can completely forget the clear pronunciation “I-want-to” and exchange it in your mind with “I wanna.”

Every time that you express something that you want, use “I wanna.

I wanna eat out tonight.
-When I go to Palembang, I wanna see the Ampera.
-It’s raining, so I don’t wanna have a picnic.

When you reduce “I want to” and use “I wanna,” your speech becomes faster and more natural!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.